Free KNIT Pattern – Mini Lace Cowl

I’ve been practicing my knitting when I get a chance, and though I’ve discovered that I like knitting hats more than anything, I finally managed to make something other than a hat!  Here is my first completed non-hat  project, and I thought I would share the pattern with my readers. This Mini Lace Cowl is a great pattern for beginning knitters who would like to expand their skills just a bit.

 

Mini Lace Cowl

Mini Lace Cowl

MINI LACE COWL

designed by Carrie Carpenter

 

SKILL LEVEL: Easy

 

FINISHED MEASUREMENTS

Cowl measures approximately  21” in circumference by 12” long

 

YARN

LION BRAND® POUND OF LOVE® (premium acrylic; 16oz/454g = 1020yd/932m): Turquoise

NEEDLES

Size US 8 (5mm)

 

INSTRUCTIONS

Cast on 100 sts.  (For wider cowl, cast on multiples of 7 plus 2)

Row 1 (RS): Knit across.

Row 2: Purl across.

Rows 3: K2, *YO, P1, P3tog, P1, YO, K2; repeat from *across.

Row 4: Purl across

Repeat rows 1-4 until piece measures 12” long.

FINISHING

Bring side edges together with RS facing, and sew back seam. Weave in ends.

photo 1

photo 4

Leave a comment