‘Tis the Season

‘Tis the season for last minute holiday preparations.  Each year, I spend the week before Christmas preparing a lot of cooked and baked good.  Fortunately I’m the type to have my shopping and  wrapping done well in advance, allowing me time for the goodie making.  My regular list of holiday items to make includes:

  • Peanut Brittle
  • Beef Jerky
  • Chocolate Covered Cherries
  • Banana Bread
  • Chex Party Mix
  • Rice Krispy Squares
  • Maple Roasted Almonds

Needless to say, I have a very busy weekend ahead of me.  As a write this, I have a batch of venison jerky in the makes.  Last night I spent a few hours cooking up 4 batches of peanut brittle.  Next I’m on to make the Chex Party Mix.

If anyone is interested in learning more about any one of these, or  would like me to share my recipes or how to’s, just leave a comment and I’ll try to post it quickly.

In the meantime, I wanted to share a picture of some ornaments I made. I’ve seen these “dollar store sock 017ornaments” on crafting website and Pinterest and thought they were super cute. I happened to have some styrofoam balls in my crafting stash (Remember, I’m vowing to work on using my stash up), so all I needed were some socks from the dollar store.  I had the holiday themed buttons in my stash as well, so the only purchase were the socks.  They were really easy to make and look so cute.

I’m gifting these ornaments to some residents that I know at a home for people with traumatic brain injuries.  Hopefully it will brighten their Christmas to receive one of these.

I hope everyone has a super holiday season!

Leave a comment